SWFD recognizes members at awards ceremony

Published: Thursday, February 20, 2014 at 11:59 AM.

The South Walton Fire District held its Seventh Annual Awards Ceremony on Feb. 8 at the Timothy Padgett Park Facility.

Fire Chief Rick Talbert presided over the awards ceremony as several SWFD members were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in 2013 with more than one-hundred SWFD members and family in attendance.

Overall there were more than 50 awards presented. Among some of the award recipients were:

Fire Fighter of the Year: Sergeant Chris Kidder

Robert Heighton Lifesaving Award: Lt. Eric Lang, Sgt. Charlee Lanier, FF/Paramedic Kate Christenson, FF/Paramedic Chris Powell and FF/Paramedic Matt Cramer

Lifeguard of the Year: Nick Dorado

• Rookie Lifeguard of the Year: Alex Winkler

Fire Chief’s Award: Gary Wise, beach safety director

Communications Operator of the Year: Dave Swift

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves