A cup of tea with a heaping spoonful of history

Published: Sunday, October 20, 2013 at 09:50 AM.

Walton was the eighth county formed in the state.

When formed, Walton County 's borders reached from Destin to Shell Island in what is now Bay County .

The county was named for George Walton, Jr., whose father signed the Declaration of Independence.

When Jackson left Florida , he left Walton Jr. as acting governor.

Tallahassee became the capital city because it was central in the beginning, as Pensacola was capital of West Florida and St. Augustine was the capital of East Florida .

"All the power was up here," said Bludworth. "Air conditioning and the cure for yellow fever were discovered just down the road from here in Port St. Joe."  

Rees agreed that calling this area the Redneck Riviera was a misnomer.

1 2 3 4

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves