And the winner of the Seaside Prize is … Bob Graham

Bob Graham

Former Florida Governor and Senator is to receive the Seaside Prize next weekend.

Published: Friday, January 25, 2013 at 10:52 AM.

Seaside Institute has announced the name of the newest recipient of its annual Seaside Prize: former Florida Gov. and Sen. Bob Graham.

Seaside Prize, which was first presented in 1992, is an award given to individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to the quality and character of communities. Over the years, recipients of the award have included planners, architects, writers and, in one instance, an entire town.

Seaside Institute's founding board members came up with the idea of the award to acknowledge those who have made strides in moving the New Urbanism movement forward. Nominees are put forward by The Fellows, who are past recipients of the award.

Seaside founder and New Urbanism proponent Robert Davis said Graham was chosen because as governor he created rules of development to protect the environment and its infrastructure.

"Governor Graham was instrumental if not remarkable in bringing intelligence to the issue of growth management," said Davis.

The building of Seaside began in 1981.

Graham was first elected to the Florida House of Representatives in 1966 and re-elected in 1968. He was elected to the Florida State Senate in 1970 and re-elected in 1974. He served as governor from 1979 to 1987 and was then elected to the United States Senate and served from 1987 to 2005.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves