Hopefuls swarm to fill Mosquito Control Board seats, Incumbent James Crawford fails to respond


Mosquito board hopefuls: Adrianne Walline Campbell (Seat 2), Incumbent John Magee (Seat 1), Ronnie Faulk (Seat 1), Tim Norris (Seat 2). Incumbent James Crawford not pictured.

Published: Thursday, October 18, 2012 at 04:10 PM.


The Mosquito Control Board has two seats open this term, and incumbents and newcomers are jockeying to fill them.

Two have qualified for Seat 1, currently held by John Magee, and three are running for Seat 2, including current incumbent James Crawford.

The nonpartisan board is the primary budgeting arm of the organization. The three board members monitor the finances and decide if it’s necessary to change the millage rate, which funds operations each year.

“If you enjoy working for the people, you would be in the position,” said South Walton Mosquito Control District Director Ben Brewer.

Current chairman and incumbent candidate John Magee agreed.

“The primary responsibility of a Mosquito Control Commissioner is managing the operational budget and maintaining the highest standards of service and transparency with the community,” said Magee.

1 2 3 4 5 6

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves