Walton County included in FEMA disaster declaration

Published: Monday, May 12, 2014 at 05:33 PM.
(FEMA) On May 6, 2014, President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of Florida triggering the release of Federal funds to help people recover from the Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding that occurred April 28 to May 6, 2014. This disaster declaration has been amended as indicated below. Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number: FEMA-4177-DR

Incident: Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding

Incident Period: April 28 to May 6, 2014

Federal Coordinating Officer: Gracia B. Szczech
National FCO Program
Individual Assistance (IA): (Assistance to individuals and households)

IA-Designated Counties: Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, and Walton Counties.

Hazard Mitigation (HM): (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards)

HM-Designated Counties: All counties in the State of Florida are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

OTHER: Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Individuals in Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, and Walton Counties can register with FEMA the following ways:
• Apply online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov. 
• Apply via smartphone at m.fema.gov.
• Constituents may call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top

Local Faves