September Kiwanis Club of Freeport South Walton Pete Dimaggio Memorial Citizenship award winners are (front) Ally Woodard, Emerald Coast Middle School; Allee Summer Taylor, Bay Elementary School; and Hailee Thompson, Freeport Elementary School.

Not pictured are Ricardo Rojas, Freeport Middle Schoo; Brett Canut, Butler Elementary School; and Kat Ogle, Seaside Neighborhood School.

They are pictured with (back) Jim Pitts, club president, Aaron Brinson, awards chairman, and Mrs. Pete Dimaggio.

Our citizenship award is a memorial to Pete Dimaggio who passed away July 1. Pete worked diligently to promote citizenship in our youth and fostered establishment of the award within the local school system. Pete was a living example of citizenship and served the children of our communities through his continuous contributions as a member of the Kiwanis Club, the Lions Club and the Niceville United Methodist Church.