When Walton County's County Commissioners take their seats for their first meeting in December, the board will have a new chairperson.

District 2 commissioner Cecilia Jones wrapped up her year in the head position and will pass the gavel to new chairman, District 1 Commissioner Bill Chapman, at the first meeting in December.

A new chair is elected by commissioners every November.

At commissioners' Nov. 28 meeting, it was the first order of business, with District 5 Commissioner Tony Anderson nominating Chapman, the current vice chairman.

District 4 Commissioner Sara Comander seconded the motion, and the nomination passed unanimously.

Chapman then returned the favor and nominated Anderson as the new vice chairman. The nomination passed unanimously.

Chapman is serving his second term on the board.

Anderson just completed his first year as a commissioner.