Students recognized at UA

A total of 12,594 students enrolled during the 2017 fall semester at The University of Alabama were named to the Dean's List with an academic record of 3.5 or above or the President's List with an academic record of 4.0 (all A's). The UA Dean's and President's lists recognize full-time undergraduate students. Local students include:

President’s List

Miramar Beach: Lauren Phillips, Alexandra Schrobilgen, Savanah Hiers

Rosemary Beach: Audrey Herndon

Santa Rosa Beach: Elisabeth Knutson

Watersound: Katherine Stuhlfire

Dean’s List

Miramar Beach: Spencer Stephenson

Santa Rosa Beach: Zoelle Coetzee Brooke Jennings, Isabelle Meadows, Benjamin Tyler, Drew Weinthal, Maria Martins

Local students achieve Dean's Honor List

Cedarville University has named Janelle Thompson and Jesse Thompson, both of Santa Rosa Beach, to its Dean's Honor List for fall semester, 2017. Students achieving this recognition maintained a 3.75 GPA for the semester while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours.

UA announces graduation list

The University of Alabama awarded some 2,077 degrees during winter commencement Dec. 16. Among the recipients were Shannon Delanie Carson of Santa Rosa Beach, who received a bachelor of science in human environmental sciences; Nicholas A. Cochran of Santa Rosa Beach, bachelor of science in commerce and business administration; Avery Lauren Henry of Santa Rosa Beach, bachelor of arts; and Sarah Jane Logan of Santa Rosa Beach, bachelor of science.

NWFSC Phi Theta Kappa inducts members

The Northwest Florida State College Sigma Mu Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recently inducted 68 new members. Students inducted were Savannah Ard, Josie Barton, Kaylee McBroom, Cierra Prater and Celestine Truett from DeFuniak Springs; Caitlin Caudill and Ethan Williams from Freeport; and Hayden Bearinger, Mikayla Brown, Jennifer Free, and Natalia Gibson from Santa Rosa Beach.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for two-year colleges. Membership into Northwest Florida State College's Sigma Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa is by invitation only. It is extended by student email to those students currently enrolled at Northwest Florida State College who have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours at the college and have maintained a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 in all college courses.

Georgia Tech graduate announced

Shawn Howard of Santa Rosa Beach received a bachelor of science in business administration when The Georgia Institute of Technology presented degrees to approximately 3,100 undergraduate and graduate students during the institute's 254th commencement exercises on Dec. 15-16, 2017, at the McCamish Pavilion.

Student honored for academic success

Kathryn Sanford of Santa Rosa Beach has been named to the 2017 fall semester Dean's List at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. To qualify for the Dean's List, a student must complete 12 or more letter-graded credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.

Local students named to Honor Lists

Tallahassee Community College recently named students to their honor lists. Named to the President's List were Matthew Spence, Matthew Lancaster and William Kent, all of DeFuniak Springs, and Morgan Zang of Santa Rosa Beach. To qualify for the President's List, students must earn a semester GPA of 4.0.

Alexander Dominick Lamberson of Santa Rosa Beach was named to the Dean's List. To qualify for the Dean's List, students must earn a semester GPA of 3.5 or higher.