Northwest Florida State College held its annual Student Awards and Honors ceremony on April 20.

During the ceremony, NWF President Dr. Devin Stephenson gave the keynote address to students and families on the importance of pursuing excellence in all things.

“These students and their numerous achievements are what truly define our success,” Stephenson said. “I cannot think of a better way to celebrate their hard work and the student-focused environment we have cultivated at NWF State College than through our annual Student Awards and Honors Ceremony.”

Local students recognized for student achievement for the 2017-2018 academic year include:

2017-2018 All Florida Academic Team: Tori Manning (DeFuniak Springs)

32nd annual James and Christian LaRoche Memorial Poetry Contest: Second place: Lucy Miree (Santa Rosa Beach)

Best Advertising Campaign in Graphic Design: Patrick Cole Pilcher (Freeport)

Outstanding Student in Creative Writing and Literature: Brandi Caughorn (Santa Rosa Beach) and Georgia Johnson (Santa Rosa Beach)

Ross Hamilton Service Award: Lilly Conley (Seacrest), Vivian Nguyen (Miramar Beach), Transfer Scholarship to FSU-Panama City: Jason Brown (Freeport)

Gold Standard Award: Haley Baker (Freeport), Tudorita Burca (Santa Rosa Beach), Lilly Conley (Seacrest), Peyton Eaton (DeFuniak Springs), Jennifer Free (DeFuniak Springs), Tori Manning (DeFuniak Springs), Vivian Nguyen (Miramar Beach), and Munkhzul Swanson (Freeport).