Election 2014: Faulk, McGee, and Christenson take local races


With Tuesday night’s General Election in the books, more than 20,000 ballots were cast in Walton County out of 41,778 registered voters, accounting for a 49.2 percent voter turnout.

When the votes were tallied, Walton County residents chose Thomas McGee and Brian Christenson to represent them on the South Walton Fire Control District Board of Fire Commissioners, and Ronnie Faulk to serve on the South Walton Mosquito Control board.

McGee, who ran for the district 2 seat, grabbed a total of 3,998 votes (51.83 percent), while his opponent Bob Brooke had 3,715 votes (48.17 percent). Christenson, who ran for the district 4 seat, had 4,425 votes (59.24 percent), while his opponent Josh Foreman totaled 3,044 votes (40.76 percent).

 As for the Mosquito Control race, Faulk tallied 3,224 votes (39.26 percent), compared to his opponents Bob Hudson, who had 2,816 votes (34.29), and Jim Crawford, who had 2,172 votes (26.45 percent).

In the statewide races, Walton County voters overwhelmingly chose Rick Scott for re-election over Charlie Christ. Scott tallied 15, 139 votes, for almost 75 percent of the total ballots cast. Christ totaled 4,342 for just over 21 percent.

Jeff Miller easily took his race, beating out challengers Jim Bryan and Mark Wichern. Miller grabbed 14,639 votes for more than 70 percent of the total. Walton County residents also overwhelmingly chose to re-elect Pam Bondi as attorney general, Jeff Atwater as chief financial officer, Adam Putnam as agriculture commissioner, and Brad Drake as the district 5 state representative.

As for the ballot initiatives, amendment 1 (land conservation) collected 10,779 yes votes to 9,081 no votes. Amendment 2 (medical marijuana) totaled 11,093 yes votes and 9,107 no votes, while amendment 3 (appointment of judicial vacancies) totaled 11,163 no votes to 8,371 yes votes.

For complete race totals from Walton County, see www.votewalton.com.